connecteventsnewcomerslisten-online

The Chalice

 
chalice 
The red chalice, bearing the "X-shaped" cross of St. Andrew was adopted as the symbol of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) by the denomination's General Assembly in 1971.


The chalice symbolizes the centrality of the Lord's Supper to Disciples life. The St. Andrew's Cross, the national cross of Scotland, focuses attention on the *Scotch Presbyterian roots of the church. Thomas and Alexander Campbell both studied in Scotland and were Presbyterians. St. Andrew has been identified with the laity and evangelism, prominent emphases of the Disciples over the years.


The red color of the chalice signifies vitality, spirit and sacrifice.


The chalice and St. Andrew's Cross, symbol of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), adopted by the church's General Assembly in 1971, is a trademark registered with the United States Patent Office.

[*21st Century usage -- "Scottish." Writing in the mid-1800s, the Campbell's referred to the Presbyterian Church of Scotland as the "Scotch Presbyterian" church.]

 


Last Updated on Friday, 01 March 2013 21:34
 

Coming Up Soon

Wednesday Jun 28 06:00PM - 07:00PM
Elders
Sunday Jul 02 11:45AM -
4th of July Lunch
Sunday Jul 02 01:00PM - 02:00PM
Pastoral Relations Committee
Tuesday Jul 04 12:00AM
Independence Day (Office closed)
Saturday Jul 08 12:00AM
Gen'l Assembly Indianapolis 8th-12th
Sunday Jul 09 12:00AM
Family Promise Families arrive
Monday Jul 10 12:00AM
Family Promise
Tuesday Jul 11 12:00AM
Family Promise
Wednesday Jul 12 12:00AM
Family Promise
Thursday Jul 13 12:00AM
Family Promise